Meet My Main Character

Welcome to my “Meet My Main Character” blog hop. I was tagged by the fantastic Derek Birks, writer of the Feud series of Wars of the Roses novels. You can find his main character, Ned Elder, here,, waiting to meet you.

Sadly I couldn’t find anyone to tag to continue this hop, so in a fit of piqué I’ve decided to be greedy and introduce two characters from my books; main characters in different timelines.

Matt Photo BW 2

1) What are the names of your characters? Are they fictional or historical figures?

The first character is Francis, Viscount Lovell. He is a real historical figure, from a long established and respected baronial family.

The second person I would like you to meet is Hans Holbein the Younger, another real person, an artist whose work simply blows me away.

2) When and where are the stories set?

Francis Lovell’s story grows from my first novel, Loyalty and he becomes the central figure in his timeline during the second instalment, Honour. The stories take place at the end of the Wars of the Roses, as the House of York becomes ascendant, only to implode. Francis’s story is tied to that of his best friend, Richard, who becomes King Richard III. After Richard’s death he is driven into opposition and eventually to Burgundy where he must decide on his path forward.

Hans is also a minor, though vital, figure in Loyalty who steps into the limelight more in Honour. He arrives in London in the late 1520’s in Loyalty and returns in the early 1530’s in Honour, finding himself caught up in the intrigues of Henry VIII’s court as the country teeters on the brink of a brave catastrophe.

Loyalty Cover Kindle

3) What should we know about them?

Lovell? He sums it up best himself: “Loyalty is the gift that a man gives to another. Honour is the gift that he gives himself.” He cannot be bought and will not waver.

Holbein? He’s scared!

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up their lives?

For Francis, he spends Loyalty wanting to support his friend and believing in his cause. Richard’s death rocks his world to its core, destroying all that he has known all of his life. In Honour, he must find his place in a world that doesn’t want him.

Hans learns a secret that gives him such power it will put his life in danger. When Sir Thomas More, who imparts the secret in Loyalty, falls from favour with King Henry VIII, Hans is caught in the deadly crossfire.

Honour Cover Kindle

5) What are the personal goals of the characters?

Francis wants, or perhaps needs, revenge. Only the restoration of the House of York will begin to fill the gap that leaves his life hollow. How far will he go? And can he keep his own goals in check?

Hans Holbein is simply seeking to survive. The secret that he carries holds a threat over him at every turn and navigating the dangerous Tudor court at this delicate time is no mean task.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

Loyalty is available now on Amazon here: and

Honour can also be found at Amazon: and

The next book in the series will be entitled Faith.

7) When can we expect the book to be published?

Faith should be on its way early in 2015.

As I mentioned, I haven’t been able to round anyone up to tag to continue this blog hop, so I’m afraid this stagecoach ends here. I hope you have enjoyed this, and that you will take a look at Derek Birks’ blog and his books.

Many thanks.


9 thoughts on “Meet My Main Character

  1. Thankyou again Matt. I have read both Loyalty and Honour – and loved them both. I will re-read them this summer on the beach! But are you really going to make me wait till next year before the next book?
    So WHY HAVE I NEVER HEARD OF DEREK BIRKS? I have now purchased both his ‘Rebels & Brothers’ books for my Kindle, and eagerly anticipate reading them also. I understand he has the third book in his series due in Autumn. Yippeeee!
    Are there any other authors around that you wish to publicise?
    Enthusiastic, or what?

    1. Hi Michael. Thank you for your kind words. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed Loyalty and Honour. I’ll try and crack on with the next book!

      I hope you enjoy Derek’s books.

      You might like Steven McKay’s Wolf’s Head and the sequel The Wolf and the Raven. I enjoyed Wolf’s Head but have yet to get to the sequel. It’s a retelling of the Robin Hood legend in a slightly different timeline. He’s also self-published and has created a bit of a storm.

      I also enjoyed Conn Iggulden’s Stormbird, part one of his Wars of the Roses series.hope that’s some food for thought.

      Because I’m a cheeky self-published author, I’m required by an established code of cheeky authors to ask whether you have been or would be able to leave reviews of my books on Amazon? They are the best advert I have for my writing in the absence of a publisher so are very gratefully received. Well, the nice ones anyway!

      Many thanks.


  2. I’m pretty sure that your ‘Loyalty’ was the first Ricardian book I read and it convinced me that Richard had been misjudged by history. I have since read many more but yours is one of the best and will always be special.

  3. I have read both Loyalty and Honour but haven’t been able to find ‘Faith’ – has this book ever been published?

    1. Hi Sue. It hasn’t I’m afraid as I’ve been sidetracked by non-fiction projects. It is still planned though when time allows. Thank you for reading Loyalty and Honour. I hope that looking for another book suggests that you enjoyed them.

I would love to hear your thoughts and feedback.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s